National ACS Awards

The Division makes the following annual awards.

Award in Electrochemistry
Award in Spectrochemical Analysis
Calvin Giddings Award for Excellence in Education
Arthur F. Findeis Award for Achievements by a Young Analytical Scientist
Award in Chemical Instrumentation
Young Investigator in Separation Science
The Roland F. Hirsch Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Analytical Chemistry


Eligibility is open to members and non-members of the Division of Analytical Chemistry. Nominees for the J. Calvin Giddings Award for Excellence in Education, however, must have demonstrated excellence in teaching through at least five years at the time the award is presented. Nominating and seconding letters may be submitted by persons who are not members of the Division.


All nominations must be sent to the immediate past chairperson of the Division and must be received by November 1 of each year. The immediate past chairperson of the Division shall in turn transmit the nominations to the chairpersons of the appropriate juries. Nominations that are unsuccessful will be retained for jury consideration for the following three years.

For the 2019 Awards, nominations shall be sent by email (single PDF) or postal mail no later than November 1, 2018 to:

 ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry
Award Nominations
2019 Galisteo St., Bldg I-1

Santa Fe, NM  87505
Phone:  505-820-0443


Nominations shall consist of:
1. A letter of nomination.
2. Two seconding letters.
3. A biographical statement emphasizing the accomplishments of the nominee which pertain to the award.
4. The nominating documents shall be submitted in one package and shall not exceed 8 pages of text, including the nominating and seconding letters, biographical statement, and attachments to the nomination. If the total pages for a nomination exceeds 8, then only the first 8 pages will be submitted to the jury for the award.
5. Nominating and seconding letters may be submitted by persons who are not members of the Division.

Contributions by a candidate which have been recognized by a prior Divisional or ACS national award generally will not be considered by the jury for a Divisional award, especially if an award has been received within the past three years and within a similar area. The jury shall receive from its chairperson a list for each nominee of any such prior awards, their dates, and their citations. Any candidate previously nominated for an award who was not chosen as the awardee will be considered for up to three additional years without further action by the nominator being required.  More information is available at