

December 2020 Edition

Dear Members of the American Chemical Society Subdivision on Chromatography and Separations Chemistry,

We wish the best for you and your families as 2020 comes to a close. With the year almost over, the ACS SCSC Executive Committee wanted to provide the following news and updates from the subdivision:

1. The SCSC has teamed up with **LC-GC** for their ongoing blog series. Please find a list of our posts <u>here</u>.

2. The SCSC has also started a partnership with **CHROMacademy** related to their series of video training courses related to chromatography and separation science. The **CHROMacademy** team are highly knowledgeable in all applications of chromatography and mass spectrometry, with decades of experience. Across the spectrum of chromatography, training covers HPLC, GC, and mass spectrometry. Brush up on principles, improve method development, or learn more about advanced techniques. More information on this partnership can be found <u>here</u>.

3. The Subdivision on Chromatography and Separations Chemistry of the American Chemical Society's Division of Analytical Chemistry is pleased to announce **Professor Robbyn K. Anand** as the recipient of the **2020 Satinder Ahuja Award for Young Investigators in Separation Science**. This award recognizes and encourages outstanding contributions to the field of separation science by a young chemist or chemical engineer from academia, industry, or national laboratories. The award will be virtually presented to Prof. Anand at Pittcon in March 2021.

Robbyn K. Anand earned her Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin under the guidance of Prof. Richard M. Crooks, followed by a NIH Postdoctoral Fellow position at the University of

Washington working with Prof. Daniel T. Chiu. She also served as the ACS Puget Sound Local Section Secretary during her time in Washington. Prof. Anand is currently the Suresh Faculty Fellow at Iowa State University, where she joined the Department of Chemistry as an Assistant Professor in 2015, with a research focus on bioanalytical chemistry and cancer diagnostics. She has been a pioneer in the application of non-linear electrokinetic methods to separate biomarkers from complex fluids and to analyze them in situ by integration with electrochemical sensors and biomolecular assays. These methods broaden access to diagnostic information and improve treatment outcomes by reducing the time, cost, and infrastructure required for clinical analysis. For example, her work addresses a need for rapid detection of tumor DNA at the point of care. Her group has implemented ion concentration polarization (ICP) in blood plasma to separate and enrich biomolecules and recently reported focusing of tumor DNA within a bed of bioconjugated beads followed by electrochemical detection.

4. The SCSC is continuing to accept proposals from subdivision members for **small grants to support separations science programming at local and regional meetings**. Members may request \$100-\$500 to defray costs associated with speaker honoraria, travel costs, refreshments, or similar expenses for a symposium, poster session, networking event, or similar activity. To apply, please submit the name(s) and contact information of the organizers (including at least one SCSC member), the name/date/location of the conference, a brief description of the intended activity (~250 words), and a short budget justification. Awards will be made on a rolling basis until allocated funds for the fiscal year have been expended. Please allow 4-5 weeks for a decision on applications. Applications and questions may be directed to the SCSC Secretary Jim Grinias at jim.grinias@acsanalytical.org.

Please remember that you can always find the latest SCSC news at our website: <u>https://acsanalytical.org/subdivisions/separations/</u>

Also, please join our LinkedIn group: <u>https://www.linkedin.com/groups/4917997/</u>

and follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/AcsScsc

We look forward to seeing you at the annual business meeting on March 9th!

- The ACS SCSC Executive Committee

Chair: Mark Hayes

Chair-Elect: Amber Hupp

Past Chair: Kate Rimmer

Secretary: Jim Grinias

Treasurer (Interim): Jonathan Edelman

Executive Committee Members: Emanuela Gionfriddo, Michelle Kovarik, Kevin Schug, Jonathan Shackman